Johannes Bigge Trio

Johannes Bigge Trio

Johannes Bigge – piano, composition
Athina Kontou – double bass
Moritz Baumgärtner – drums

 
Born in Berlin in 1989, Bigge first grew up in a musical home with classical music, but at the same time was also influenced by the emotional directness of pop. Already at the age of 16, he discovered the piano trio as an adequate form to express himself, and he has remained faithful to the trio to this day. In the course of his career, which has included Richie Beirach and Michael Wollny at his side, he has opened up in all directions and simultaneously thrown off more and more ballast to bring his own idiom to full fruition. In 2010 he founded his current trio, to which the incredibly dynamic bassist Athina Kontou has belonged since the beginning. The drumming all-rounder Moritz Baumgärtner completed the formation four years later.

Imago is the second album with this lineup after Pegasus. From the very first tone, the music acts like a collective coup. And while Bigge does not deny any of his idols, who are equally found in jazz, classical and pop, the three visionaries perform so intuitively and musically as if there had never before been a recording of another piano trio. It is neither about expectations, nor the completion of pre-stamped forms. On the contrary, every song is a new journey of discovery. Although the compositions originate exclusively from the pen of the pianist, the trio resembles an equilateral triangle in its main characteristics, which is known to be one of the most resilient geometrical forms ever. However, the length of the sides and the center of gravity are renegotiated in each song.

The equilateral nature of this triangle can also be effortlessly transferred to the three components jazz, pop and classical music, each of which is inherent to the music in equal parts. But this is not about fusion or superficial crossover ideas, rather it is about a kind of spiritual interpenetration of the attitudes underlying the three basic genres. “I try to translate the emotions that are in pop into jazz,” explains Bigge, “because I often miss them in jazz. Of course, the instrumentation, the improvisation and our handling of different parameters and forms come from jazz. However, it is important to us that the improvisations always have a function within the piece and sound as if they were part of the composition. As a composer I am also shaped by the structural clarity of J.S. Bach. In the end, we always want to bring complexity together with accessibility.”

Immediately striking is the brevity and concision of the pieces. Committed to the spirit of spontaneous improvisation, Bigge, however, is fully a composer. He weighs all aspects of a piece of music and knows exactly how much of what each piece needs. What should be said is said, and that’s it. At the same time, the tracks are full of dynamics, emotions of partly opposing movements as well as surprising mood and tempo changes. Despite using provocative asymmetry, Bigge always focuses on the essentials. Skillfully, he plays with contradictions. For this reason, his compositions are equally complex and simple, fervent and factual, eccentric and easily accessible, clearly structured and yet full of encrypted images. You only have to listen to this album once, and a lot of what you can call on from the multitude of motifs remains in the inner player of the listener.

The concept of imago suggests both image and unity: the Johannes Bigge Trio is always in the picture, in every playful moment. It hardly matters which parts are improvised or composed because the respective pictures are extremely flexible. For Bigge himself, Imago has yet another meaning. “I read once about insects, that the last stage of their metamorphosis after larva and pupa is called imago, so to speak the finished ‘Picture of the Species.’ The piece “Imago” with its idyllic beginning, which is abruptly broken several times and then develops into something very different, carries within itself this metamorphosis, the pervading and appearance of the imago.” This way of reading the music also makes sense because the songs are basically about different states of composition, of which what is commonly understood as improvisation is merely the most spontaneous. What matters is the result – perfection as an expression of transience. “Transferred to the album as a whole,” says Bigge, “both we as a band and the music have undergone a metamorphosis since the last album.”

However, we should not get ourselves tangled up in conventional terms and views because they do not do justice to the music of the Johannes Bigge Trio. Imago manifests a language for which no dictionary exists. What arises here does not want to be explained, but rather imagined in the most immediate sense of the album.

Wolf Kampmann

 

 

 

“Peculiar harmonies that fly to the participants, then melt away, even before they can become changes. Grooves and textures that are, at first, the one thing and then become the other. At the same time, complex and simple, irritating and mesmerizing, independent, but far from completely told.”
Michael Wollny

 

 

Happy Release Day, Imago!
Happy Release Day, Imago!

Finally! Our second album “Imago” is now released on nWog-Records! We are happy as hell and would like to thank everybody that contributed in realising this album! Find more information about our new album down at the “Records”-Section…

14. September 2018: Release “Imago”
9/14/18 - Release "Imago"

We are so happy that our second album will also be released on nWog-Records! Check out our wonderful label: www.nwog-records.com

Das nächste Album ist in Arbeit!
We recorded our next album!

In the beginning of december we recorded new music at the Loft in cologne. The mixing date will be in january!

Wir sind unter den Finalisten beim European Jazz Contest in Rom!
We are among the finalists on the European Jazz Contest 2017 in Rome!

http://www.jazzcontest.it/en/

Subscribe to Newsletter

Thank you, the subscription was successful.

There was a problem - please contact the site administrator.

Please enter your email address

We cannot process your subscribe request without your consent. Please check the checkbox below.

*If you wish to have your submitted email removed from our list, Unsubscribe Newsletter here

Concerts

22. Nov. 2018 · 20:00

 

23. Nov. 2018 · 20:00

 

24. Nov. 2018 · 19:00

 

25. Nov. 2018 · 21:00

 

10. Jan. 2019 · 19.30

 

11. Jan. 2019 · 20:30

 

12. Jan. 2019 · 20.00

 

13. Jan. 2019 · 20:00

 

18. Jan. 2019 · 20:00

 

28. Jun. 2019 · 20:00

 

Records

Imago

{titel}{/titel}

Available as

Compact Disc and digital album on Bandcamp

Compact Disc on JPC

Compact Disc and digital album on amazon

Or on iTunes

Pegasus

{titel}{/titel}

Available as

Compact Disc and digital album on Bandcamp

Compact Disc on JPC

Compact Disc and digital album on amazon

Or on iTunes

 

Press reviews


„This young pianists musical and compositional language is of such striking filigree delicacy and multidimensionality, that listening to his music for the first time without knowing anything biographical about him, one would think of a mature and older composer.“

Thorsten Hingst in Jazzpodium (04/2016)

„How these eight pieces pulsate, how they turn and turn, how they build up and fade away, how chords cumulate and resolve into delicate melodies, lies far outside the usual framework of what most other piano trios offer.“

Werner Stiefele in Rondo (02/2016)

„His music sounds indeed tremendously fresh and different.“…“It’s not surprising, that such a courageous album is released on the niche label of the musician Nils Wogram.“

Frank von Niederhäusern in Kulturtipp (05/16)

Media

Audio

Videos

Imago

Albumtrailer "Imago"

Herbstberg

Pegasus

Johannes Bigge Trio

Johannes Bigge Trio

Johannes Bigge – Klavier, Komposition
Athina Kontou – Kontrabass
Moritz Baumgärtner – Schlagzeug

 
1989 in Berlin geboren, wuchs Bigge in einem musikalischen Elternhaus zunächst mit klassischer Musik auf, wurde aber gleichzeitig von der emotionalen Direktheit des Pop geprägt. Bereits mit 16 Jahren entdeckte er das Klavier-Trio als adäquate Ausdrucksform, der er bis heute treu geblieben ist. Im Lauf seiner bisherigen Karriere, auf der ihm unter anderem Richie Beirach und Michael Wollny zur Seite standen, öffnete er sich nach allen Seiten und warf gleichzeitig immer mehr Ballast ab, um sein eigenes Idiom voll zur Entfaltung zu bringen. 2010 gründete er sein aktuelles Trio, dem seit Anbeginn die unglaublich dynamische Bassistin Athina Kontou angehört. Der trommelnde Tausendsassa Moritz Baumgärtner komplettierte die Formation vier Jahre später.

„Imago“ ist nach „Pegasus“ das zweite Album in dieser Besetzung. Die Musik wirkt vom ersten Ton an wie ein kollektiver Befreiungsschlag. Bigge leugnet keines seiner Vorbilder, die gleichermaßen in Jazz, Klassik und Pop zu finden sind, und doch musizieren die drei Visionäre dermaßen intuitiv und musikantisch, als hätte es noch nie zuvor die Aufnahme eines anderen Piano-Trios gegeben. Es geht dabei weder um Erwartungshaltungen noch um die Ausfüllung vorgeprägter Formen. Im Gegenteil, jeder Song ist eine neue Entdeckungsreise. Die Kompositionen stammen zwar ausschließlich aus der Feder des Pianisten, aber in seiner Grundbeschaffenheit gleicht das Trio einem gleichseitigen Dreieck, bekanntlich eine der belastbarsten geometrischen Formen überhaupt. Die Länge der Seiten und der Schwerpunkt werden jedoch in jedem Song neu verhandelt.

Die Gleichseitigkeit dieses Dreiecks lässt sich auch mühelos auf die drei Komponenten Jazz, Pop und Klassik übertragen, die der Musik zu gleichen Teilen innewohnen. Wobei es hier nicht um Fusion oder oberflächliche Crossover-Konzepte geht, sondern um eine Art spiritueller Durchdringung der den besagten drei Basisgenres zugrunde liegenden Haltungen. „Ich versuche die Emotionen, die im Pop stecken, in den Jazz zu übertragen“, erläutert Bigge, „denn die fehlen mir im Jazz oft. Die Besetzung, die Improvisation und unser Umgang mit verschiedenen Parametern und Formen kommen natürlich vom Jazz. Allerdings ist es uns wichtig, dass die Improvisationen immer eine Funktion innerhalb des Stücks haben und so klingen, als wären sie Teil der Komposition. Als Komponist bin ich auch von der strukturellen Klarheit J.S. Bachs geprägt. Am Ende wollen wir Komplexität immer mit Zugänglichkeit zusammenbringen.“

Auffällig ist auf Anhieb die Kürze und Prägnanz der Stücke. Dem Geist der spontanen Improvisation verpflichtet, ist Bigge jedoch voll und ganz Komponist. Er wägt alle Aspekte eines Musikstückes ab und weiß genau, wie viel von was ein Stück braucht. Was gesagt werden soll, wird gesagt, und fertig. Zugleich stecken die Tracks voller Dynamik, Emotion teils gegenläufiger Bewegung sowie überraschenden Stimmungs- und Tempowechseln. Trotz provokanter Asymmetrie konzentriert sich Bigge immer aufs Wesentliche. Geschickt spielt er mit Widersprüchen. So sind seine Kompositionen gleichermaßen komplex und einfach, inbrünstig und sachlich, verstiegen und leicht zugänglich, klar strukturiert und doch voller verschlüsselter Bilder. Man muss dieses Album nur ein einziges Mal hören, und schon bleibt aus der Vielzahl der Motive jede Menge Abrufbares im inneren Player des Hörers hängen.

Der Begriff Imago suggeriert gleichermaßen Bild und Einheit. Das Johannes Bigge Trio ist immer und in jedem spielerischen Moment im Bilde. Da spielt es kaum eine Rolle, welche Parts improvisiert oder komponiert sind, denn die jeweiligen Bilder sind extrem flexibel. Für Bigge selbst hat Imago noch eine weitere Bedeutung. „Ich hatte über Insekten gelesen, das letzte Stadium ihrer Metamorphose nach Larve und Puppe wird Imago genannt, sozusagen das fertige ,Bild der Artʼ. Das Stück ,Imagoʼ mit seiner Idylle am Anfang, die mehrmals abrupt durchbrochen wird und sich dann zu etwas ganz anderem hin entwickelt, trägt diese Metamorphose, das Durchstoßen der Verpuppung und Erscheinen des Imago in sich.“
Auch diese Lesart macht Sinn, denn im Grunde geht es bei den Songs um verschiedene Zustände von Komposition, von denen das, was landläufig als Improvisation verstanden wird, lediglich der spontanste ist. Was zählt, ist das Ergebnis. Vollkommenheit als Ausdruck von Vergänglichkeit. „Auf das Album als Ganzes übertragen“, so Bigge, „ haben sowohl wir als Band als auch die Musik seit dem letzten Album eine Metamorphose erlebt.“

Verstricken wir uns hier jedoch nicht in herkömmlichen Begrifflichkeiten und Betrachtungsweisen, denn sie werden der Musik des Johannes Bigge Trios nicht gerecht. Auf „Imago“ manifestiert sich eine Sprache, für die es kein Wörterbuch gibt. Was hier entsteht, will nicht erklärt, sondern im unmittelbarsten Sinne des Albums imaginiert werden.

Wolf Kampmann

 

 

 

„Eigentümliche Harmonien, die den Beteiligten zufliegen und wegschmelzen, noch bevor sie zu  changes  werden können. Grooves und Texturen, die zuerst das Eine sind, und dann das Andere werden.  Gleichzeitig komplex und schlicht, irritierend und hypnotisierend, eigenständig und noch lange nicht auserzählt.“
Michael Wollny

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Release Day, Imago!
Happy Release Day, Imago!

Endlich! Unser zweites Album “Imago” ist bei nWog-Records veröffentlicht. Wir freuen uns riesig und danken Allen, die an der Produktion und Veröffentlichung mitgewirkt haben! Alles weitere zum neuen Album findet ihr weiter unten…

14. September 2018: Release “Imago”
14. September 2018: Release “Imago”

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass unser zweites Album bei nWog-Records erscheint! Schaut mal vorbei: www.nwog-records.com

Das nächste Album ist in Arbeit!
Das nächste Album ist in Arbeit!

Anfang Dezember waren wir im Loft in Köln und haben unser nächstes Album aufgenommen. Im Januar wird gemischt.

Wir sind unter den Finalisten beim European Jazz Contest in Rom!
Wir sind unter den Finalisten beim European Jazz Contest in Rom!

http://www.jazzcontest.it/en/

Newsletter abonnieren

Danke, die Newsletter Bestellung war erfolgreich.

Es gab ein Problem - wenden Sie sich an den Website Administrator.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Email-Adresse ein

Wir können Ihre Anfrage nicht ohne Ihre Zustimmung bearbeiten. Bitte setzen Sie einen Haken in das Kästchen unten.

*Wenn Sie Ihre eingetragene Email-adresse aus der Liste entfernt haben möchten: Newsletter hier Abbestellen

Konzerte

23. Nov. 2018 · 20:00

 

10. Jan. 2019 · 19.30

 

11. Jan. 2019 · 20:30

 

12. Jan. 2019 · 20.00

 

13. Jan. 2019 · 20:00

 

18. Jan. 2019 · 20:00

 

11. Oct. 2019 · 20:00

 

13. Oct. 2019 · 20:00

 

Alben

Imago

{titel}{/titel}

Erhältlich als

CD und/oder mp3-Download bei Bandcamp

CD bei JPC

CD und/oder mp3-Download bei amazon

Oder bei ITunes

Pegasus

{titel}{/titel}

Erhältlich als

CD und/oder mp3-Download bei Bandcamp

CD bei JPC

CD und/oder mp3-Download bei amazon

Oder bei ITunes

 

Pressestimmen

“Es ist eine musikalische Fahrt ins Gelände, dort wo nichts asphaltiert ist, wo es vieles zu erforschen gilt. Eine Entdeckung, dieses Album und dieser Pianist.”

Thorsten Hingst im Jazz Podium (02/2016)

„Wie diese acht Titel pulsieren, wie sie sich wenden und drehen, wie sie auf- und
abebben, wie sich Akkorde ballen und in feine Melodien auflösen, fällt weit aus
dem Rahmen dessen, was die meisten anderen Klaviertrios bieten.“

Werner Stiefele im Rondo-Magazin (Nr. 929)


„Seine Musik klingt tatsächlich unerhört frisch und anders.“ … „Es ist nicht

überraschend, dass ein solch mutiges Album auf dem Nischenlabel des Musikers
Nils Wogram erscheint.“

Frank von Niederhäusern im Kulturtipp (CH) #5 18.2.16

Media

Audio

Videos

Albumtrailer "Imago"

Herbstberg

Pegasus

Rantasmus